Comfortable Coastal Luxury on Naples Bay

With the help of local suppliers, a gifted design team infuses a waterside spec home with Southwest Florida style, as well as details and amenities that nod to the good life

116

Envisioning move-in-ready residences from mere sketches is all in a day’s work for VIV Homes’ Carly Reed, but a recent project in Naples’ illustrious Port Royal illustrates her authentic embrace of the coastal modern lifestyle. As the head of design for the Naples-based developer known for its quality builds and attention to detail, Reed appreciated the importance of creating an environment that would appeal to discerning buyers while also showcasing this particular spec home’s enviable waterfront location. 

“The first thing you see when walking into the home is that it flows through to the outdoor living area,” she explains. “The infinity-edge pool is centered upon the entrance of the home, so it encapsulates the view by extending onto the canal. Our aim was to capture the feel of the elegant sub-tropical lifestyle of Naples. It truly offers the best of everything.”

Although it began as a tear-down, in 2021 this nearly 8,400-square-foot home emerged with five bedrooms—all en-suite—plus two half baths and a study. An elevator takes homeowners and guests to the second floor and into a VIP suite showcasing a morning bar and balcony. A four-car garage, heated saltwater pool and spa, stone-wrapped fire pit, outdoor kitchen, and Ipe dock are also included in the residence’s amenities list, as is a bespoke wine storage space in the dining room. “The custom glass doors open to expose carpentry that conceals an entire four-column wine display,” says Reed about this particular amenity. “Otherwise the space is entirely covered in floor-to-ceiling marble.”  

A statement-making great room highlights the spacious, open floor plan designed, according to Reed, for “multifunctional family time.” There, an elegant marble fireplace faces a generous sectional sofa and accent chairs, all rendered in neutral shades. “The way I achieved this look was by using materials and finishes to imply and play into the coastal theme,” she explains, “By using different wood and metal finishes that tie well with light linens and earthy light tones, it gives a feeling of being by the water without being over the top.” 

Wide-plank European white oak panels from Naples Flooring Company ground the space, while custom rugs from Loretta Larson provide textural warmth. Reed also called on local millwork supplier Smith & DeShields to create custom trims for a truly magnificent coffered ceiling. “We have our baseboards and crown made larger than average to make the rooms seem really big,” she says. “I used different crown profiles in the ceiling to make shadow lines.” 

Small details like the aforementioned might go unnoticed to the untrained eye, but the overall effect is not lost on anyone. After all, as Reed says, “The most important thing we were trying to achieve in the build of this home was to make it feel like a private resort with a calming view of the water.” Mission accomplished… and surpassed.  

Story Credits:

Developer VIV Homes, Naples, FL

Interior Design Carly Reed, VIV Homes, Naples, FL

Architecture by Jon Kukk, Kukk Architects, Naples, FL

Builder Paul Stanton, VIV Builders, Naples, FL

Landscape Architecture by Architectural Land Design, Naples, FL

Text by Riki Altman-Yee

Photography by Naples Kenny, Naples, FL

Open to see Interior Design Sources:

Sources

Back Exterior

Pool designed by Architectural Land Design, Naples, FL and fabricated by VIV Builders, Naples, FL

Water lounges – Ledge Lounger, KB Patio, Naples, FL 

Umbrella – Tuuci, tuuci.com

Living Room

Sofa –Tandem Arbor, tandemarbor.com

Lounge chairs – Baker Furniture, bakerfurniture.com

Cocktail table – Bernhardt Furniture, bernhardt.com 

Bench – Adriana Hoyos, adrianahoyos.com

Chandelier – Currey & Company, curreyandcompany.com

Fireplace designed by Carly Reed, VIV Homes, Naples, FL and fabricated by Rain Forest Marble, Naples, FL

Artwork above fireplace – Benson Cobb, bensoncobb.com 

Family Room

Sofa – Marge Carson, margecarson.com

Side chairs – Ralph Lauren, ralphlauren.com

Cocktail ottoman – EJ Victor, ejvictor.com

Artwork above sofa – Oly Studio, olystudio.com

Console – Vanguard Furniture, vanguardfurniture.com

Chandelier – Visual Comfort, visualcomfort.com

Kitchen

Cabinetry designed by Carly Reed, VIV Homes, Naples, FL

Island designed by Carly Reed, VIV Homes, Naples, FL and fabricated by Rain Forest Marble, Naples, FL 

Stools – Frag, frag.it/en

Pendant lighting – Visual Comfort, visualcomfort.com

Dining Room

Table – Robert James Collection, robertjamescollection.com

Chairs – Adriana Hoyos, adrianahoyos.com

Chandelier – Currey & Company, curreyandcompany.com

Ceiling designed by Carly Reed, VIV Homes, Naples, FL

and fabricated by VIV Builders, Naples, FL

Loggia and Outdoor Kitchen

Seating area – Harbour Outdoor, harbouroutdoor.com

Side chairs – Sika Design, sikadesignusa.com

Cocktail table – RH, rh.com

Round ottomans – Serena & Lily, serenaandlily.com

Kitchen island designed by Carly Reed, VIV Homes, Naples, FL and fabricated by Rain Forest Marble, Naples, FL 

Stools – Palecek, palecek.com

Pendants – Serena & Lily, serenaandlily.com

Facebook Comments